#FantastiKpopJakarta: My 1st Ever K-Pop Concert.

Okay, time to write for it. If you dunno what the heck is FantastiKpopJakarta (Imma shorten it to FKJ), it was a concert promoted by BlackRock Entertainment with mostly artists from JYPE. The performers are:  miss A2AMJoo, San.E, and Kim Hyung Joon (SS501). At first Lee Hyun (8eight) was going to come, but there’s change at last minute, and he’s substituted by KHJ. 2AM’s Jinwoon didn’t come either because of his solo promotion.

I was lucky enough to win a VIP ticket from KoreanUpdates, that’s why I could come in the first place. Hahaha. I was accompanied by my high-school friend Ayu, who’s also attending the concert. Luckily, we didn’t meet any inconvenience going to the venue by Transjakarta.

When we arrived at the venue at around 3 PM, the queue line for Istora Senayan was already quite long. Tho not as long as what I thought, knowing that the main gate was announced to be open at 12 PM. As we waited, I met with another Ayu and Vicky whom also attending it.

Me, wearing my VIP A class bracelet.

Around 5 PM the gate for the concert hall was opened, and the line started to enter the hall. During the two hours waiting for the show to begin (it’s scheduled to start at 7 PM), I could clearly see that it wasn’t crowded. Festival class only filled up to half, Tribune class was similar, but VIP class fared better with around 75-80% capacity filled. While waiting, I was able to befriend a guy who’s a fan of miss A’s Suzy, named Ojan. Unusually, the concert really started at 7 PM, with very insignificant delay.

Joo was the opening act for the night. She sang 3 of her songs: “Nappeun Namja“, “Namja Ttaemune“, and “Majuchigo Naseo” (I’m not sure of the 3rd song, CMIIW).  And she also sang Whitney Houston’s “I’m Every Woman“. She appeared with a black mini-dress(?) which gave off cuteness and elegance at the same time. She also danced a little while singing “I’m Every Woman“. She showcased her strong vocal in all of the songs, while breaking free of her “sad” image with “I’m Every Woman“. Seeing her upclose in the fanmeet and on stage are two different things, but they give the same jaw-dropping effect.


The next act was unexpectedly, 2AM. I mean, since they have high popularity, I thought they’d be put near the end, or even for closing. But apparently, they have to go back to Korea that very night, hence the change of list. Appearing with set of white suit; Changmin, Seulong, and Jo Kwon were no less than charismatic. In fact, I was so stunned by their vocal that I kinda forgot their songlist. *whoopsie* I just remembered that they sang around 6 songs, including their hit songs, such as “Chingu-e Gobaek“, “Jugeodo Motbonae“, “I Norae“, “No.1“, and “Jeonhwal Badji Anhneun Neo-ege“. I forgot the title for other songs. *sorry* The thing is, I personally like to sing 2AM’s songs in karaoke, that’s why I couldn’t help but to sing along when they sang “Chingu-e Gobaek” and “I Norae“. To be honest, I couldn’t take my eyes of Changmin that night. Other than he’s the closest member to my seat, his vocal was just too awesome. When he sang the high note in “Jeonhwal Badji Anhneun Neo-ege“, I simply got goosebumps, even remembering it now still gives me goosebumps.

After them, San.E took the stage. I’m personally curious about him, since I’ve listened to his songs before. He opened his act with “Matjoheun San“, which is performed with miss A’s Min in the album, but he only brought two dancers with him. Btw, the dancers were sexy. After this song, he suddenly told a story to the audience, saying that when he’s in high school he got into a relationship with Indonesian girl named “Putri”. He then continued by asking a girl from the audience to the stage and basically serenaded her with “Love Sick“. During the song, he gave the girl quite generous skinship and even asked for a kiss on the cheek, which was -of course- granted by the girl. After this he invited his sexy dancers to the stage once again and sang Black Eyed Peas’ “I Got A Feeling” and “Boom Boom Pow“. During this, he opened up a bottle of mineral water and showered the Festival audience with it. Then he closed his performance with FarEast Movement’s “Fly Like a G6” which really got the crowd crazy. He answered well to my curiosity and IMBO, he was the best performer that night in the terms of crowd control and entertaining.


Kim Hyung Joon came up next. To be honest, I don’t like SS501 (not an anti tho), thus I dunno anything about KHJ’s songs. The only thing I’d give credit is that he took a camera from the audience, took a selca with it, then returned the camera to the lucky fan. But what caught my attention the most was one of his female dancers. Seeing this female dancer from VIP A seat, I instantly thought of KARA‘s Hara. Maybe it’s her hairstyle, but she really resembled Hara that night. I even gave her a nickname: Who Hara. With tanktop, cropped vest, and hot pants, she really gave a strong sexy vibe with her oh-so-seductively-inviting moves.  Especially near the ending, she’s the only one female dancer who changed her tanktop to an abs-revealing one, showing off her excellent sexy mid-riff. I really stood up and hugged the fence near the stage just to look at her closer and try to greet her. Yes, I’m still a man who’s still a sucker for sexy girls.

The last act of the night was miss A. As soon as they got on stage, my eyes were fixed on Jia, she was simply too attractive to miss out. They started things out with “Breathe“, which was quickly followed by “Love Alone“. I love how Jia and Fei really did the same routine in “Breathe” as in the MV. Yes, they did the hand-stand. Then they got off the stage, to come one by one showcasing each skills of their own. Min came up first doing strong dance routine, followed by Fei and Jia who showed off sexy and sharp hip-hop routine. Suzy came up last, wearing a cute princess-ish dress, to sing Mandy Moore’s “Only Hope“. At this point I couldn’t scream her name at all (I’ve been screaming all the time), because I got swayed by her soft vocal. Then all of them got back on stage to heat things up once again with Lady Gaga’s “Poker Face“. I guess they performed or danced to Beyonce’s song, but I kinda forget when. They concluded their act and with that, the concert with their first single “Bad Girl, Good Girl“. Min did a reference to 2PM’s “Again & Again” in the middle of the song. And as the song ended, they waved and thanked the audience and got off the stage. Min was such a cutie, Fei was sexy (with her oh-so-toned thighs), Suzy was sweet, but Jia was the one who win my heart. Sadly, no encore. But it was nowhere near anti-climax. It has a great climax feel to it. *woot* *woot*


Anywho, that night was AWESOMELY AWESOME! I felt that I was really blessed. I mean, FREE VIP ticket! I could really see them close, the nearest I got was less than 5 meters away! I didn’t win the chance to attend Fanmeet with miss A & San.E, but I know if I also got it, my luck would absolutely ran out after that. Hahaha.

Credit goes to BlackRock Entertainment. Tho the concert didn’t last 4 hours like they said, they really executed the list well, and they did a very kind gesture. They gave away free mineral water while we were queuing outside. And they also did it inside, within the small gaps between acts. Sure they could use more stage effects like flames and confetti, but overall they did great.

2 comments

  1. vicky · June 21, 2011

    Jiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa <333
    i was screaming her name like many times..udah gt ditambah triakan : kakoii..kawaii! *still a HUGE jpop fans i am*

    gw jg msh merinding kl inget Changmin hits the high note, sayang bgt sound system nya jelek..waktu gw ntn di KL jauh lbh bagus..udah gt tempat nya more smaller..jd brasa sampe merinding banget banget!

  2. abanggultom · February 7, 2012

    wow, u’ve seen suzy IRL. u lucky guy u.

Leave a Reply

